With Gov. Bobby Jindal's signature yesterday, Louisiana became the latest state to require motorists to stay at least three feet away when meeting or passing a bicycle. What sets the Louisiana law apart from Florida's similar one, though, is that it also outlaws menacing or harassing a pedestrian or cyclist.
Fines for violations in Louisiana can be as high as $200 for harassment and $250 for close passing. I'm glad to see the law enacted. Now let's see if it's enforced.
You can read more about it at LSU's Daily Reveille.